Top 10 Goalkeepers of all Time

Literally the last man standing in the team in a game of football, the goalkeeper has a seminal position in any football match. He is the last limit of defense in a team against the opponent team, and if he fails, all fails. The skill set of a goalkeeper is simply wide, from timing, to coordination of body, superb reflexes, communication, and perfection in timing and angles.

Let us look at the following list of top ten goalkeepers in football. Like all lists in this blog that involve a controversial matter, there is no specific order. Feel free to take your grievances, if any, to the “comments” section.

01. Julio Cesar de Espindola

Julio Cesar de Espindola is from Brazil, and plays as goalkeeper in the Internazionale MIlano of the Itaian Serie A. He is the first choice as goalkeeper for the national team Brazil, ad has won the international cap fifty three times. The IFFHS felicitated Julio Cesar as the best goalkeeper, as well as Serie A Goalkeeper of 2009. 09 more after the break...

02. Iker Casillas

Iker Casillas is a Spanish goalkeeper playing for Spanish La Liga and Real Madrid. He is one of the best goalkeepers from Europe. He is also the first capped Goalkeeper ever. He is the captain for both the national team of Spain as well as Real Madrid. It was he that led the team for the first European Championship in 44 years. The FIFA world Cup victory was also led by him.

03. Gianluigi “Gigi” Buffon

Gianluigi was declared one of the top footballers of our time. The Italian national team and Juventus of Serie A rightly consider him a hallmark. He has been known for attaining the Serie A Goalkeeper Record for a total of eight times. He was also named captain of the Italian team for Euro 2008.

04. Edwin van der Sar

 Edwin van der Sar is a former Dutch footballer that had a long and successful career. He is the most capped footballer in the national team of Netherlands. He won the UEFA Champions League twice, both with Ajaz and Manchester United in 1995 and 2008. he was given the Best European Goalkeeper award in 1995.

05. Igor Akinfeev

Igor Akinfeev played for CSKA Moscow from Russia. His creditable performance in Euro 2008 earned him quite a few fans.

06. Petr Cech

Petr Cech wears the goalkeeper’s gloves for Czech Republic and Chelsea. He was at the receiving end of the Best Goalkeeper award consecutively from 2004 to 2008.

07. Victor Valdes
 Victor Valdes plays for FC Barcelona and the Spanish National team. He is the most successful goalkeeper in the history of Barcelona. Valdes had a number of titles under his belt, such as four La Liga titles, Copa Del Rey Title and others.

08. Hugo LLoris

Hugo Lloris is a French Association Player and plays for the Olmpique Lyonnais as Goalkeeper. He won the Ligue 1 Goalkeeper of the Year twice. He was a tour de force when France qualified for the 2010 FIFA world cup. He captained the team as well.

09. Shay Given

Shay Given is an Irish footballer that plays for Manchester City. He has played for Ireland more than any other footballer. He played for New Castle in UEFA Cup and the Champions League.

10. Maarten Stekelenburg

Maarten Stekelenburg was Dutch Goalkeeper playing for Ajax and the Netherlands national team. He replaced Edwin der Sar as goalkeeper in 2010 FIFA World Cup.

0 yorum:

Yorum Gönder

Blog Archive

Blogger tarafından desteklenmektedir.